top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmma Shibley

Monday, January 7

Today hits the one month mark. To be completely honest, my first week, I did not want to be here. Everything was so shocking. When I FaceTimed my family, I just wanted to be with them. I felt like I was missing out on my life. I thought to myself, “I really hope that the Indian embassy shows up at our door and revokes my visa, so I will have an honorable way to dismiss myself from this situation that I so eagerly threw myself into”. How was I going to last four months if I couldn’t even last one week?


But now, one month later, it barely feels like I’ve been here a week. I understand what people meant when they said how quickly the time would pass by. I am not missing out on my life. All of those things that I did back in Baltimore (work, school, family, friends), they aren’t going anywhere. For now, India is my home.


Along with being my one month Indiaversary, today was also my first day of school and work. We started Bible college classes bright and early at 7am. By 9:30, I was teaching Bible to the preschoolers. I had a really great first class with them. We sang, had a lesson, did a craft. I think they really enjoyed it.


43 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page